Living in Greece

Most of you who subscribe to this blog know i am living in Greece for a few months. For years I had been thinking that I want to live in Europe for the New Zealand winter and last year I realised, all it comes down to is a decision. So I did it and here I am – the Island of Corfu and the town of Sidari. So here’s some things about Greece for all my readers.

Greeks are wonderful generous amazing people. yes I have been ripped off by the taxi drivers in Athens, and even taken to the police in Santorini for arguing with the driver. (The police subsequently ripped up his license in front of me) but there is no such experiences here. People can’t do enough for you in fact, but there is a fine line – you can swear lots at them – but as soon as there is any intent in your voice it goes from a back slapping joke to a full scale war.

Image
beautifully overeating at Corfu’s biggest festival

 

The season is very tough on the islands. Essentially from about 10 May to 10 October (if you are lucky) and its 7 days a week, wages around 4 – 5 euro an hour and hours generally around 11 a day with no day off in around 160 days. Try doing that for a living and then still be happy. I think they do a great job.

My town is full of Brits on holiday mainly. It’s hilarious to see all the Tribute shows in the main street – Rihana here, Lady Gaga there and Robbie Williams over the road. Then there is the plethora of English pub food – the ubiquitous fish and chips, burgers, fries, and versions of Gyros and Souvlaki. It has taken me a while to get truly greek here on my food and not just tourist greek.

The thing about Greece is you can set your watch by the weather. 30 degrees and sunny, day after day – perfect sunsets everyday. Accomodation is also cheap if you hunt it down. I’m really happy with my deal but now with a bit of experience I can get a one bedroom apartment with pool just 1km away for just 250Euro per month (yes I said month). In fact I met someone who has hired a whole home on a hill overlooking the ocean for 3600 euros for the year. Nice deal.

Some things are funny though. I spent my last few years getting rid of paper but this week I had to print something. Only one place in town with a printer, no post office at all and the laundry is non existent as well, so it’s talk sweetly to a neighbour or hand wash. Then there is GMT (Greek Maybe Time) and the fact that smoking is illegal in hotels, bars, restaurants etc yet everyone simply ignores that and basically many people have a cigarette in their mouth from 6am in the morning. The internet is random but the beaches are stunning and I would suggest that if you have ever thought of living overseas then JDI – Just Do It…. life’s to short to wonder if… stop making excuses. I did it for at least 5 years.

Image
Sunset – one of the most beautiful times in Greece

 

Author: Mike Handcock

Mike Handcock is the Chairman and Founder of Rock Your Life, a global transformational company focussing on helping everyone play a bigger game and have a more extraordinary life. We work with some incredible people globally and create the most extraordinary adventures, workshops, books and programs.

Leave a Reply

