Death – Transition or Final Frontier

I was today reading about the death of ‘easyrider’ Dennis Hopper at age 74. Just two weeks ago I learned of the death of Black Sabbath frontman –Ronnie James Dio at 67. Since it is Sunday and I was moving between work and relaxation, I decided to go for a walk on the beach. In life it is always the simple things that seem to hold the most enjoyment. I came back to load a couple fo new things on Facebook and was looking at photos from my 2010 album. Boy have I had some wonderful times already this year. Have you?

I googled celebrity deaths 2010 – not to be morbid but to see who else had moved on that I didn’t know about. I thought I was on the wrong page. It was full of photos of young people not elderly. With the exception of famous people such as Art Linkletter who lived to 98 there have been a lot of early deaths. Here is a question for you. Given the average person knows 350 people and lives to approximately 74 years, that means every year we should know 4-5 people who die. Do you?

It seems all of know people who have had a heart attack, cancer or some other dreaded disease, but most of them survive. Don’t you want to do more with your life?

In my new book – ‘What if you were GOD?’ I pose the question of where we go when we die. Is it final or is it transition? The last time one of my friends died (in 2007) I recall having a discussion with another friend that he now knew all the answers that most were searching for. My personal belief and I go into detail in the book, is that death is simply a transition, from caterpillar to butterfly. In this lifetime I seem to recognise people from my soul cluster almost immediately I meet them. In fact sometimes it’s downright hilarious, like when I met Hilary Carter, the author of The 11:11 code. I looked at her and said – ‘Oh, we have been married several times.’ She just laughed and said: ‘I guess you weren’t so bad, Im still talking to you.’

So every day could be your last. What a possibility. The Khmer people live by it. In fact they have a saying which roughly translates to ‘We die tomorrow.’ When you have seen the war they have you would understand. Live in the present and you can always be responsible for your happiness. Here are some things you can do today to live an exceptional life.

  1. Go for a walk in a forest or on a beach. get back in touch with nature. Its hard to be sad surrounded by so much beauty.
  2. Pat a dog or spend some time with your favourite non human friends. They will show you what being present really is.
  3. Tell someone how much you love them and how grateful you are for them being in your life.
  4. Do something to contribute – pack up your old clothes and donate them, or learn about what is going on around you
  5. Pamper yourself – this doesnt mean a donut – it means take some time to breathe and to stretch and feel alive

We all die – I don’t know if you have considered your moment of death, but I believe we can control it… even embrace it. You have heard of people hanging on until they can say goodbye. Why don’t we stop making excuses and live a life so full that when that moment comes there are no regrets and nothing left undone. Make an impression…leave a legacy.

Author: Mike Handcock

Mike Handcock is the Chairman and Founder of Rock Your Life, a global transformational company focussing on helping everyone play a bigger game and have a more extraordinary life. We work with some incredible people globally and create the most extraordinary adventures, workshops, books and programs.

2 thoughts on “Death – Transition or Final Frontier”

  1. Your book sounds awesome Mike – yes I agree with what you are saying – we are all in control of our life and receive what we allow into that life.

  2. Hey Mike, thank you for that post – great insights – would love to take your points for living an exceptional life and (with credit of course) share them in my new e-book on how to get past depression.
    Also something I have seen in the past days looking also at those who are moving on in the time.. seems to be a lot of them choosing to leave already! interesting given the times we live in.

Leave a Reply

